Monday, December 23, 2013

Project 365: Week 2


This one was rough.  I've got to remember to pull the camera out more often!  Also, it's turning out that most of my pictures are from my phone, which is not how I envisioned this.  I wasn't very happy when I realized that.  Then I thought, "hey, I'm not a 'photographer.'  I'm simply a mom/wife capturing moments.  I'm okay with iPhone photos if that's the best way to capture the moment before it's too late!"  Two down, 50 more to go!

Day 7:  A Christmas Story moment

Day 8:  Project 365 Failure...this is the ONLY picture I took that day!  :(
Catching sight of The Grinch on the walk home from school


Day 9:  Learning the tricks of the trade with the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders

Day 10:  Candy Cane Pizza Project  aka:  Why do I do this to myself?


Day 11:  Mom's new toy


Day 12:  The Nutcracker in Seoul...year THREE!


Day 13:  I know he loves me because he menu planned this week!










Monday, December 16, 2013

Project 365: Week 1

Project 365...here goes nothin'!
Week 1  ....yes, I did start mid-month.
Project 365 faux paux?  Maybe, but if I don't get started NOW it just won't happen.

Day 1:  Another Day in Paradise?

Day 2:  Fiendette Christmas 

Day 3: The stores are closed?  Let's get some hot chocolate and call it good.

Day 4:  I changed my mind, we're going home.

Day 5:  Ready for the Christmas Party and Concert at the orphanage

Day 6:  Cleaning Day!

Day 7:  Slip Knot vs. Loose Tooth, Round One

So there you have it.  A full week complete!  Let's see how long I can keep this up.
Also, I feel like I need to make a note about "Day 4."  It doesn't look that bad, but I've decided that driving in Korea in the winter is worse than driving in Texas in the winter.  I don't know why some of the cars out there actually thought they could make it up these hills.

Friday, December 13, 2013

Roller Derby Friday!


Roller Derby Friday?  Yeah, sure.  Why not.
My thoughts on a few things "derby"


SO TRUE!  It's on my mind all the time and I have to intentionally try to talk about other things when I'm with friends who don't derby.  I'm afraid they'll kick me out of the group if I talk about it as much as I want to!  :) 
DO YOU DERBY?  DO YOU WANT TO?  WHAT SIZE SHOE DO YOU WEAR?  WANT TO TRY MY NEW SKATES?  I CAN'T WAIT TO GET TO THE POST OFFICE, I HAVE A NEW ORDER FROM WICKED ON THE WAY!  EW, SMELL THIS!  DID YOU DO YOUR SQUATS TODAY?  DO THESE SHORTS SHOW MY SWEAT MARKS?  WANT TO SEE MY NEW BRUISE?  ...yeah, that's running through my head all the time.



Seriously.  I don't know how many times I've stared at the screen, needing to send a message to someone and I can't come up with their real name to save my neck!  On multiple occasions I've had to resort to going to the facebook skater page, scroll through until I find a random post by the person I'm needing to message just so I can find out their "real" name.  Skaters, if you're reading this and you haven't already....go to your facebook settings and add your derby name as one of your alternate names...PLEASE!!! 


Well, I wouldn't go as far as to say that it "saved my soul," but it's definitely empowering.  I know it sounds cliche and you're like, "yeah, well, I run and jump and play basketball and tennis and go to spin class and finish off the day with a little kick boxing!"  But it's really not the same.  I've played other sports before, but derby is definitely different.  I feel like my whole outlook has changed since derby...in a good way. 
So, thanks Pandora for  telling me about derby a little over two years ago.  Thanks Bull Lee for working so hard to start a derby league in South Korea and thanks OH! for being so awesome! 

Monday, December 9, 2013

Project 365

It's in writing, so it will happen.  Right?
I've been inspired by my derby friend Shutter Speed (you can find her over at Girl Meets Camera, and you should!)  I definitely have the opportunity to take great pictures and document really awesome things (or things that may seem mundane at first, but I'll be happy to have years from now) daily and I don't take advantage of that opportunity.  Well, that's about to change.  I'm dusting off my little camera now.


This should also help with my "I have a blog?  Oh yeah!" problem.  Hopefully you'll be seeing much more from me.


Project 365.  Starting now.  Look for my first post soon...and feel free to bug me about it until it appears!  ;)