Monday, December 23, 2013

Project 365: Week 2


This one was rough.  I've got to remember to pull the camera out more often!  Also, it's turning out that most of my pictures are from my phone, which is not how I envisioned this.  I wasn't very happy when I realized that.  Then I thought, "hey, I'm not a 'photographer.'  I'm simply a mom/wife capturing moments.  I'm okay with iPhone photos if that's the best way to capture the moment before it's too late!"  Two down, 50 more to go!

Day 7:  A Christmas Story moment

Day 8:  Project 365 Failure...this is the ONLY picture I took that day!  :(
Catching sight of The Grinch on the walk home from school


Day 9:  Learning the tricks of the trade with the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders

Day 10:  Candy Cane Pizza Project  aka:  Why do I do this to myself?


Day 11:  Mom's new toy


Day 12:  The Nutcracker in Seoul...year THREE!


Day 13:  I know he loves me because he menu planned this week!










Monday, December 16, 2013

Project 365: Week 1

Project 365...here goes nothin'!
Week 1  ....yes, I did start mid-month.
Project 365 faux paux?  Maybe, but if I don't get started NOW it just won't happen.

Day 1:  Another Day in Paradise?

Day 2:  Fiendette Christmas 

Day 3: The stores are closed?  Let's get some hot chocolate and call it good.

Day 4:  I changed my mind, we're going home.

Day 5:  Ready for the Christmas Party and Concert at the orphanage

Day 6:  Cleaning Day!

Day 7:  Slip Knot vs. Loose Tooth, Round One

So there you have it.  A full week complete!  Let's see how long I can keep this up.
Also, I feel like I need to make a note about "Day 4."  It doesn't look that bad, but I've decided that driving in Korea in the winter is worse than driving in Texas in the winter.  I don't know why some of the cars out there actually thought they could make it up these hills.

Friday, December 13, 2013

Roller Derby Friday!


Roller Derby Friday?  Yeah, sure.  Why not.
My thoughts on a few things "derby"


SO TRUE!  It's on my mind all the time and I have to intentionally try to talk about other things when I'm with friends who don't derby.  I'm afraid they'll kick me out of the group if I talk about it as much as I want to!  :) 
DO YOU DERBY?  DO YOU WANT TO?  WHAT SIZE SHOE DO YOU WEAR?  WANT TO TRY MY NEW SKATES?  I CAN'T WAIT TO GET TO THE POST OFFICE, I HAVE A NEW ORDER FROM WICKED ON THE WAY!  EW, SMELL THIS!  DID YOU DO YOUR SQUATS TODAY?  DO THESE SHORTS SHOW MY SWEAT MARKS?  WANT TO SEE MY NEW BRUISE?  ...yeah, that's running through my head all the time.



Seriously.  I don't know how many times I've stared at the screen, needing to send a message to someone and I can't come up with their real name to save my neck!  On multiple occasions I've had to resort to going to the facebook skater page, scroll through until I find a random post by the person I'm needing to message just so I can find out their "real" name.  Skaters, if you're reading this and you haven't already....go to your facebook settings and add your derby name as one of your alternate names...PLEASE!!! 


Well, I wouldn't go as far as to say that it "saved my soul," but it's definitely empowering.  I know it sounds cliche and you're like, "yeah, well, I run and jump and play basketball and tennis and go to spin class and finish off the day with a little kick boxing!"  But it's really not the same.  I've played other sports before, but derby is definitely different.  I feel like my whole outlook has changed since derby...in a good way. 
So, thanks Pandora for  telling me about derby a little over two years ago.  Thanks Bull Lee for working so hard to start a derby league in South Korea and thanks OH! for being so awesome! 

Monday, December 9, 2013

Project 365

It's in writing, so it will happen.  Right?
I've been inspired by my derby friend Shutter Speed (you can find her over at Girl Meets Camera, and you should!)  I definitely have the opportunity to take great pictures and document really awesome things (or things that may seem mundane at first, but I'll be happy to have years from now) daily and I don't take advantage of that opportunity.  Well, that's about to change.  I'm dusting off my little camera now.


This should also help with my "I have a blog?  Oh yeah!" problem.  Hopefully you'll be seeing much more from me.


Project 365.  Starting now.  Look for my first post soon...and feel free to bug me about it until it appears!  ;)

Monday, November 18, 2013

How-to: Pocket Warmers!

This isn't really a crafty, DYI blog, but some friends have asked me how I made the kids' pocket warmers...so here's my first "how-to" post!  I did try to take the easy way out by searching Pinterest for a ready-made blog post, but they were all getting pretty fancy with their additional felt between the layers and shapes and measuring and pinning, etc.  Oh, how I LOATHE measuring and pinning, and basically any kind of pattern and instructions in general.
So here's my simple, no measure, only use one pin example (not instructions, because you know I don't like those!)

I bought this really cute pack of fat quarters a while back and have been looking for the right project to use them.  After the cold walk to take the kiddo to school this morning, I decided THIS was it!

The quarters had been folded in such a way that when opened up (still folded in half) there were eight "back pocket sized" rectangles.  Of course, I didn't measure them, but they were about the size of my hand.  Cut out two of those rectangles, making sure to cut through both layers of fabric so you end up with two sets that are the same size...
you'll want to make two warmers, so go ahead and cut them both now.

Grab one of those sets of rectangles.  Leaving them with wrong sides together, sew around three sides of the rectangle to form a pocket.

Then, trim the fabric pretty close to your stitching all the way around.

Using something you've got handy (like your "fabric only" scissors...you've got those, right?) turn the pocket wrong side out and push your corners out.  Be careful not to push so far that you shove your tool all the way through...yes, this did happen the first time!  Remember...it doesn't have to be perfect, after all they're going to be hidden away in your pocket!

Now, with your pocket inside-out, sew around the three edges again.  Keep as close to the edge as you can without sewing through more than two layers.

Now you should have a pocket that looks like this!

Repeat the process for turning the pocket and pushing out the corners.

Fill your pocket about 2/3 full with rice.  Here you can see those beautiful seams you've created that will be forever hidden inside your pocket!  :)  I decided to make the seams this way because I thought it would likely keep them from fraying longer since the edge is hidden away.  Will that really work?  I have no clue, but it's easy and it sounds like a good idea!

Now, fold your fabric to the inside.  Use your best judgement for how far down to fold it.  Keep in mind that you'll need room for the presser foot when it comes time to sew this part shut and your pocket is pretty full of rice.  I folded mine down about half an inch.

Pin your pocket closed about 2/3 of the way across.  This way you won't have to worry about losing any rice while you're setting your presser foot and helping feed the pocket through.

See?  That pin is far enough back that you have some space to sew and it's still keeping all your rice from spilling everywhere!

Sew a line pretty close to the edge of your pocket.  Be sure and remove the pin as you get closer, then sew the whole side closed.

Voila!  You now have your first pocket warmer!  Don't forget to make two...you'll probably want to keep both hands warm on that cold walk! 
**Microwaving!  Depending on the size you end up with...pop these in the microwave for 20-30 seconds.  I wouldn't do more than 25 seconds if you're giving them to little hands. My kids don't like them too hot.**